(non) Cooking tips from a single gal

19 Dec

It’s been awhile but I’m baaack! With the economy in its current state, I’ve had to be real creative in thinking of ways to cut costs. I tend to eat out a lot, so I’ve been trying to eat in more to save money and pounds! Here are some tips:

Buy a rotisserie chicken. There’s no way I can eat a whole chicken but I buy them, eat some for dinner one night, and use the leftovers to make other dishes. Here are a few ideas:

  • Make chicken salad. Shred the chicken, add Miracle Whip, apples, walnut or pecans, onions or whatever tastes good to you. Spread it over bread for a sandwich or top over a bed of lettuce.
  • Make enchiladas. Tonight I make what I call an “Easy Enchilada Bake.” I took tortilla chips and spread them over the bottom of a casserole dish. I combined the shredded chicken with Old El Paso enchilada sauce and spread it over the chips and topped it off with cheese. I baked until hot and until the cheese melted.
  • Make a green salad. Top salad greens with the shredded roasted chicken and your favorite salad toppings like cranberries, cheese, nuts, wonton strips, mandarin oranges, or whatever you like!

The possibilities are endless. Please comment with your ideas.

2 Responses to “(non) Cooking tips from a single gal”

  1. jengilmer January 12, 2009 at 12:22 am #

    Hey girl – Dave’s been out of town so I’ve been eating like a single girl again. 🙂 Took your advice and it was great! I also shredded some and threw in a vegetable soup to give it a little more pizazz. Great idea!

  2. Jenni Gilmer May 5, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    Hey girl – I have a better idea… after doing the above many times, I’ve figured out that it’s really cheaper to buy a frozen whole chicken, season it how you like it (just plain ole salt & pepper tastes great!), bake per directions and then follow your excellent advice. The already-made chickens are $4-5-6 but the frozen ones are sometimes $1.50!

Leave a Reply

